Sonic Meditations
Fifth House Ensemble and Alash

Sonic Meditations was a collaborative project between Alash and Chicago's pioneering Fifth House Ensemble. Both groups crossed geographic as well as musical boundaries, as Alash traveled to the United States and the Fifth House musicians traveled to Tuva. The project featured new arrangements of Tuvan folk music by contemporary western composers, newly commissioned compositions, and guided improvisations. It culminated in a series of groundbreaking concerts on both continents.

“Chaghatai” arrangement by Parker Anderson

“Mezhegei” arrangement by Parker Anderson

“Sonic Meditations” by Pauline Oliveros

Dan Visconti, Artistic Director of Fifth House Ensemble
Trailer for Sonic Meditations